FacebookMySpaceTwitterDiggDeliciousStumbleuponGoogle BookmarksRedditNewsvineTechnoratiLinkedin

Electoral history of Attock

Electoral history of Attock


Rashid Ali 

ATTOCK/:Attock, Punjab’s last district and house to one of the worlds oldest civilizations having transcended through numerous times whose limits envisages not only Khyber Pukhtoonkhwa’s various districts but also Islamabad, Rawalpindi and Chakwal, is rich in Natural Minerals, Forests, Natural resources, Green Gardens, beautiful farms, High Mountains and Valleys, comprising of Sandy areas and rocky land.

District Attock has always been politically more important than other districts. This district comprises of three Seats for the National Assembly and five for Provincial Assembly. In 2008 Sheikh Aftab Ahmed from PML (N) was elected from NA-57, Chaudhry Parvez Elahi of PML (Q) was elected from NA-58 while PPP’s Saleem Haider was elected from NA-59 and he was appointed the Minister for Defence Production. Upon five seats of the Punjab Assembly PPP’s Malik Shahan Hakimeen Khan was elected from PP-15, Colonol Shuja Khanzada was elected from PP-16 as independent candidate and joined PML(N). From PP-17 PML(Q)’s Nawab Chauhdry Sher Ali Khan s was elected who has now joined PML(N). From PP-18 PPP’s Malik Khurram Ali Khan was elected. From PP-19 Ex-MNA Malik Allah Yar Khan of Khanda’s son Captain Malik Aetbar Khan was elected, who later joined the forward block and now is a member of the PML(N). Malik Sohail Khan Kamryal, son of Malik Lal Khan who was elected Deputy District Nazim from Major Tahir Sadiq’s Panel, later joined PML(N), has left it now and joined PTI. Ex-District President PML(N) Shavez Khan who after 12 October, 1999 remained active for PML (N), later spent some time in PML (Q), has again now joined PML (N). It is not uncommon in Attock to change the party because of non-availing of the ticket or because of non-availing of benefits. In 2002 elections, all the three National Assembly seats were won by PML (Q) candidates Malik Amin Aslam, Malik Allah Yar Khan of Khanda and Chaudhry Shujaat Hussain’s niece, Ex-District Nazim’s daughter Begum Eman Waseem. Begum Eman Waseem had resigned from National Assembly seat on 1st July, 2004 and from this seat Ex-Prime Minister Shaukat Aziz was elected MNA in By-Elections and took oath on 20th August, 2004 for the National assembly seat and remained the Prime Minister until the completion of the tenure of the Assembly. If we look towards the political history of Attock, in the council of the Lieutenant Governor of the Punjab’s third Council (4 January 1913-To-19 April 1916) the Malikan Shams Abad’s Great Grand father Sir Malik Muhammad Amin Khan of Shams Abad served as a member, which was a great honor in those times. He also served as a member in the fifth Council whose duration lasted from 12 June 1916 to 6th April, 1920. Subsequently, it was renamed the Punjab Law Council. Therein the first council that served from 8th January, 1921 to 27th October, 1923, Sir Sardar Sikandar Hayat Khan of Wah who was bestowed the title of Lieutenant MPE served as a member and he also served as a member in the second council that lasted between 2nd January, 1924 and 27 October, 1926. Sir Malik Muhammad Amin Khan of Shams Abad who was bestowed with honorary title of Khan Bahadur OBE by the British Government served in the third council that spanned from 3rd January,1927 to 26 July, 1930. Pir of Makhad Pir Mohay-ul-din Lal Badshah from South Attock, Sir Major Sardar Muhammad Nawaz Khan from Attock, Khan Bahadur Nawab Muzaffar Khan CIE and from South Attock Major Sardar Sikandar Hayat Khan elected member KBE who was elected from an Indian district was later elected as Chief Minister for the first Punjab Assembly. He served from 1924-1937 at the same position. After the creation of Pakistan the same people continued to serve as members in the first Legislative Assembly which spanned from 15th August, 1947 to 25th January 1949, meanwhile Sardar Shaukat Hayat Khan was given the Finance Ministry.

After the implementation of true democracy in Pakistan, Malik Hakimeen Khan, Malik Fateh Khan, Malik Zafar Khan, Munawar Khan of Bhagvi, Taj Muhammad Khanzada was elected in the seventh Punjab Assembly that lasted from 2nd May, 1972 to 13th January, 1977.

The historical Attock Fort that was constructed in the reign of “Akbar the Great” is also present here wherein accountability courts was setup to prosecute President Asif Ali Zardari, PML(N) Leader Nawaz Sharif, Ex-Chief Minister Sardar Mehtab Khan, Chief Minister Khyber-Pukhtoonkhwa Amir Haider Khan Hoti’s father Ex-Federal Minister for Communication Azam Khan Hoti, Chief Minister Punjab Muhammad Shahbaz Sharif and other political personalities and government officers. Mian Muhammad Nawaz Sharif, Chief Minister Punjab Mian Muhammad Shahbaz Sharif, Ex IG Sindh Rana Maqbool, Ex-Principal Secretary Saeed Mehdi and other personnel who were arrested for being accused in the Plane Hijacking conspiracy case were presented here.

Attock’s dignified people have given hundreds of thousands of Kanals in land to numerous Defence organizations at less than market price. Sanjwal Ordinance factory, POF Sanjwal Package factory, Artillery center Attock, Pakistan Aeronautical complex Kamra, Azad Kashmir Regimental center, Manser Camp, Special services group and other Defence organizations were sold by the residents of this land, their precious Land at cheap price and today these same people, at not being able to access their houses due to lack of communication channels, are facing problems.  




Last modified onTuesday, 16 April 2013 17:30

Leave your comments

terms and condition.
  • No comments found
back to top


Spokesman Media Group

Spokesman Media

About Us

  • Contact Us
  • This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
  • Advertising
  • Privacy Policy
  • Interest-Based Ads
  • Terms of Use
  • Site Map

Follow Us